Well, Well, Well…

My sister and I in front of our beautiful Halifax apartment!

My sister and I in front of our beautiful Halifax apartment!

Here I am writing my first blog post, for my first blog which happens to be on my new adventure which happens to be a family microbrewery.

Who am I? … “Is this real life?”

In less than one month, I will be moving out of my charming Halifax apartment, into a room at a friend’s house for my last month of school and internship, marking the beginning of my Nomad Chapter. Darn 12 month leases and 13 month diploma programs.

Following the end of school and internship on October 1st, I will be heading home to Malagash and setting up Home Base in my parent’s cottage! While I am excited to be back in the country, steps from the ocean… and my parents fridge, I am also very nervous. I really never thought I’d be heading home to Malagash following my Public Relations diploma – I figured I’d have my sights on some moderately sassy PR job. It took 9 months of school in Halifax, the selling of a family winery, and the purchase of the future home of the Tatamagouche Brewing Company for me to have my ‘AH-HA’ moment! I am excited to spend time with my family, and especially to be a part of building a company from the ground up! I have a lot to learn business wise, but am up for the challenge and have a great teacher – my father, HC!

I figure I will be a nomad of sorts from the beginning of September until March-April of 2014 when there is an actual physical building for me to start working on. Until then my only plan is to learn as much as I can brewing wise, from whoever will teach me! I would love to get a week or two, or even a month or two at different breweries around the Maritimes – and hopefully even take a few courses in a few US cities (details hopefully to follow in a later post)!

3 thoughts on “Well, Well, Well…

  1. You may want to contact the MBAA for a start. E-mail me and I can put you in touch with a few brewers in the province.

    While I am now based at the International. Centre of Brewing and Distilling/Heriot Watt I still work out of Dal occasionaly.

    Alex Speers

  2. I am thrilled to witness yet another step forward in the most amazing chronicle of the Jost family!!! Congratulations to a very wise and brave decision!! best of Luck!! Annette MacIntyre ( Ellen’s friend)

  3. So exciting to start a new adventure and what better place than back home where people know you and believe in you. Have fun learning as much as you can and remember life is about dreams and making them come true…so keep dreaming and dream BIG. Nancy ❤

Leave a Reply

